About The Museum

The Meridian Museum of Art (MMA) is housed in the historic Old Carnegie Library building, which was constructed in 1912-13, and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and as a Mississippi Landmark. The Museum seeks to promote and support the art, artists, and art programs of our area and region through art education, exhibitions, collections, collaborations with other organizations, special events, and community involvement. MMA programs are designed to further these goals and to make art accessible to everyone in the community. The Museum serves an audience from across the state and region, but primarily from Meridian and Lauderdale County and the surrounding counties: Kemper, Neshoba, Newton, Jasper, and Clarke (in MS), and Sumter and Choctaw (in AL).

48th Annual Bi-State Art Competition and Exhibition


The annual Bi-State is a juried exhibition presented by the Meridian Museum of Art (MMA), offering over $3,000 in awards and prizes including the $1,000 Best of Show Cash Award. The purpose of the exhibition is to showcase contemporary artists in Mississippi and Alabama and reward their efforts. This competition and exhibition is open to all artists who are current or past residents of Mississippi or Alabama.

Juror Ronna S. Harris

Ronna S. Harris currently serves as Associate Professor in the Newcomb Art Department with Tulane University in New Orleans, LA, where she has instructed since 1989.  Harris received her Master of Fine Arts/Painting at the University of California Santa Barbara and her Bachelor of Art/Drawing from California State University at Northridge, CA and attended the San Francisco Art Institute.

Harris has a long list of one- and two-persons and invitational group exhibitions throughout her exhibition career. She has given many service-related hours to the University and the community in New Orleans.  Honors and awards have added up over the years from such places as New York, Santa Barbara, New Orleans, and cities throughout Florida.  Her work has been collected by the New Orleans Museum of Art, Jacksonville Art Museum, Morris Museum, Huntsville Art Museum and is in many private collections. 

Harris’ teaching specialization includes painting, figure drawing, studio fundamentals, illustration, design fundamentals and color theory.

Artists Included

Angi Cooper

Anne O’Hara

Bailey Hughes

Barbara-Ann Carver-Hunt

Betty Press

Bob Purvis

Brittany Davis

Carolyn Busenlener

Carolyn McIntyre Norton

Charles Carraway

Charlotte Wegrzynowski

Cynthia Buob

Denise Dengler

Dillan Ladner

Elliott Street

Frahn Koerner

FUZZFUR (Daniel C. Ethridge)

Gary Howse

George Ann McCullough

J’Marcus Alfred

Jane Randall Cleek

Joan McRaney

John Armistead

John Dumoulin

Julia Gary

Julia Graber

Kathie Baeuerlin

Kathy Tosch

Kelly Proaps

Lesley Silver

Martha Markline Hopkins

Martina Sciolino

Mary Clare Evans

Mary Hardy

Mary Louise Porter

McKenzie Drake

Megan Hitt

Melissa Smith

Miriam Wahl

Nate Theisen

Olin Perry Norton

Pat Abernathy

Patt Odom

Paul Smith

Paulette Dove

Rick Anderson

Robert Gibson

Robert Hale

Sabyna Sterrett

Sadako Lewis

Shelly Graham

Susa Nawrocki

Terry K. Childers

Thomas Grosskopf

Thomas Nawrocki

Vanda McCormick

William Crudup

William T. Dooley

Winki Allen


August 2 -September 24

Reception: September 24, 2022.    

2-4 p.m. Awards will be announced at three thirty.  A special invitation is extended to artists and their friends.



Find Us

628 25th Avenue
Meridian, MS

Tuesday-Saturday: 11:00AM–4:00PM